Senior TDP leader quits, will join BJP soon, defections continue to jolt Chandrababu Naidu in Andhra Pradesh

He said, he was “compelled” to join the BJP to protect his “cadre”, who have been facing “harassment” from the YSRC in Kadapa.

Reddy’s resignation comes at a time when the TDP president is going all out to boost the sagging morale of the party cadre through an aggressive campaign against the ruling YSRC. But, despite his efforts, one leader after another has deserted the party in the last three months.

Four Rajya Sabha members – Y S Chowdary, C M Ramesh, T G Venkatesh and G Mohan Rao were the first to resign and merge with the BJP on June 20, less than a month after TDP’s twin losses in the Lok Sabha and the assembly polls.
Subsequently, there have been a series of resignations by the TDP leaders looking for greener pastures. While the former minister Ambika Krishna joined the BJP, Visakha Dairy chairman Adari Anand and all the directors of the company, Yalamanchili municipal chairperson Rama Kumari and senior leader from Narsipatnam Ch Sanyasi Patrudu, who is brother of former minister Ch Ayyanna Patrudu, are joining the YSRC.

A TDP leader familiar with the developments in the party said former MLA from Ramachandrapuram constituency in East Godavari district, Thota Trimurthulu, is preparing to defect to the YSRC by this week-end. “He has called for a meeting of his followers on Friday, where he is expected to make an announcement in this regard,” he said.

Similarly, another former MLA Vangaveeti Radhakrishna from Vijayawada is also readying to defect from the TDP into the Jana Sena Party floated by actor Pawan Kalyan.